Why so many Robertson County homesites are just under two acres, and what the plat doesn't promise.

Buying Land in Robertson County TN: What to Check First

On South Swift Road near Goodlettsville, Lamon Enterprises LLC owns 12.96 acres with a house on it. This fall the company asked Robertson County to rezone a small piece of that land so the house can sit on its own lot. The piece they asked for is 1.85 surveyed acres, or 80,586 square feet. The request is on the county's public hearing list for October 19, 2026.

That number keeps showing up in county records. It's a good starting point if you're looking at rural land around Springfield, Greenbrier, or Cross Plains, because it shows how these homesites get made. It also shows what the acreage alone can't tell you. The zoning code sets the size of a rural lot. Three other things decide whether you can build on it and what it will cost to own: the septic approval, the size of the water line out front, and the fire rating your insurer looks up.

The math behind 1.85 acres

Most of unincorporated Robertson County's farmland is zoned AG-2. County planning staff list the AG-2 minimum lot size as 130,000 square feet, or about three acres. The next zone down, RP-80, has an 80,000-square-foot minimum. Since 80,000 square feet works out to just under 1.84 acres, a surveyor drawing the smallest lot that safely clears the RP-80 line lands at about 1.85 acres.

These are recent requests to rezone AG-2 land to RP-80:

Applicant or site

Road

Acres rezoned

Parent tract

Status in county records

Lamon Enterprises LLC

S. Swift Rd., Goodlettsville

1.85

12.96 acres

County Commission hearing Oct. 19, 2026

Chris Burtt

3395 Maxie Jones Rd., Springfield

1.85

9.84 acres

Planning Commission recommended 7–0 in August; County Commission approved

Elaine Brinkley

Swift Rd., Greenbrier

3.87

3.87 acres

Deferred in August, back on the September agenda

June 2026 request

4809 Albert Fentress Rd.

2.25

Not stated

Approved unanimously

June 2026 request

1316 South Dividing Ridge Rd.

4.01

Not stated

Approved unanimously

For a buyer, this means a 1.85-acre lot carved from a family farm usually went through a rezoning and a plat. County subdivision rules say a metes-and-bounds deed, meaning a parcel described by survey lines instead of a lot on a recorded plat, doesn't get around the plat requirement. The county reviews one to four lots as a minor plat, with a $250 final-plat fee. Five or more lots is a major plat, which adds a $100 preliminary fee. That schedule took effect November 1, 2023, and the county notes it can change.

The width rules are less settled. The same September packet lists the RP-80 minimum width at the front building setback as 150 feet for one request and 175 feet for another. In September 2025, the County Commission voted 15–3 to change lot-width and setback standards, with the stated goal of reducing rezonings out of agricultural zones. The zoning resolution posted online still says it was last amended in 2021. If a lot's frontage is close to either number, call Robertson County Planning & Zoning and get the current figure before you rely on it.

What a preliminary plat approves, and what it leaves for later

Rainwater Farms shows how much is still open after the lot lines are drawn. Brian Cook, working with surveyor Steven E. Artz and Associates, brought two preliminary plats to the Planning Commission's September 24, 2026 meeting. Both are near Owens Chapel Road, Brown Road, and Green Road.

Section 1 is three lots on about 6.88 acres, and about 55.69 acres would stay in the parent tract. Section 2 is 12 lots of roughly 1.86 to 2.46 acres on 24.06 acres. Neither section adds a new road. The Robertson County Planning Commission packet says every lot gets a driveway onto the existing county roads, and each driveway needs a permit and a culvert that meets the minimum size before a building permit can be issued.

Section 2's staff report also describes the water service:

"The plat identifies an existing 4-inch water line operated by the White House Utility District. Notably, the plat includes a fire protection note stating that, due to the size of the existing water line, it is inadequate to support a fire hydrant."

Staff recommended approval with conditions. TDEC or environmental health has to approve every lot and its septic area. White House Utility District has to confirm water service. The developer has to pay the Robertson County Fire Fund before the final plat is recorded. The packet records the staff recommendation, not the commission's vote. Each of those conditions is still waiting on another agency. When a seller says a lot is "platted," ask which plat, preliminary or recorded, and which of those conditions have been met.

The septic approval comes before any dirt work

On these lots, the house goes where the soil allows a septic system, so the soil drives the layout. TDEC says the septic permit should be in hand before any dirt work starts, including grading a building pad. When land is split into two or more lots served by septic, the state requires a subdivision evaluation, a survey, and a soils map from a Tennessee-licensed soils consultant. If the soil can't support a conventional system, TDEC handles an alternative-system permit, which needs a more detailed extra-high-intensity soils map first.

TDEC's rule also has an exception that explains why some splits use larger parcels. The state's subdivision evaluation doesn't apply when every resulting parcel is at least five acres. That exception only covers state septic review. Robertson County's plat rules still apply.

Costs are modest compared with the price of a lot. TDEC's permit page lists $400 for a conventional system permit, up to 1,000 gallons per day, plus a separate $100 construction inspection. The rule text sets lot-evaluation fees at $150 per lot for two lots or fewer and $100 per lot for three to ten lots. It describes the $400 as covering the inspections, so ask TDEC how it will bill your project. If the lot already has a house, TDEC offers inspection letters on the existing system's status, which it says are often requested for a sale, financing, or plat approval.

Where the hydrant fee goes

Rainwater Farms isn't the only rural site where the water line is too small for a hydrant, and the county has a way to collect for it. Robertson County Planning & Zoning collects "Fire Hydrant Abatement Fees" on behalf of volunteer fire departments. A budget amendment passed April 20, 2026 sent $7,000 collected in fiscal 2025 to the Pleasant View Fire Department. It also sent $3,500 collected in December 2025 to the Cross Plains Fire Department, and any later collections go to a reserve account.

No published county document gives the per-lot amount, and the posted fee schedule doesn't list it. The fee helps fund the departments. It doesn't add a hydrant to the street. The county's adopted budget for fiscal 2027, approved August 17, 2026, has no separate fire-tax rate. Fire prevention services are funded from the General Fund.

The rating your insurer looks up

Without a hydrant out front, the lot's fire protection has to be judged some other way, and insurers usually use a rating system built for that. Verisk, which runs the ISO Public Protection Classification, scores communities from Class 1, generally superior protection, to Class 10, where the fire suppression program doesn't meet its minimum criteria. In Verisk's split-class example, a property within 5 road miles of a fire station and within 1,000 feet of a creditable water supply gets the better class. A property within 5 miles but beyond 1,000 feet of that supply gets the second one. Verisk says the data supports risk pricing when a policy is written and when it renews.

Cross Plains shows what that can mean in real money. In April 2024, Smokey Barn News reported that the Cross Plains Fire Department dropped from ISO Class 6 to Class 10. Chief Tommy Jackson tied the drop to staffing, with four full-time firefighters and a few volunteers, and the report said some insurers could raise annual premiums by as much as 50%. Minutes from the city commission's August 7, 2025 meeting say the department lost a full-time firefighter and hired three part-timers. At the October 2, 2025 meeting, Jackson listed hydrant testing, pump tests, pre-fire plans, and updated aid agreements as work to finish by January, when he planned to ask ISO for a new rating. No newer rating has been published in the records reviewed. Class 10 is the last published rating, so it may not be the current one.

The rating attaches to an address, and an insurance quote is the quickest way to learn it.

A due-diligence order that follows the paperwork

  1. Pull the plat and check its stage. Find out whether the lot is on a recorded final plat or only a preliminary one. Read the plat notes for water line size and fire-protection language.
  2. Confirm the zoning numbers with Planning & Zoning. Check that the lot's width and frontage meet the current RP-80 or AG-2 standards, since the online resolution predates the 2025 amendment.
  3. Get the septic paperwork. Ask for the TDEC approval for that specific lot and its reserved septic area, or for an inspection letter if there's an existing system.
  4. Call the utility district. Ask White House Utility District, or whichever district serves the road, to confirm in writing that service is available at that address.
  5. Get a homeowners insurance quote during your inspection period. Give the insurer the exact address and ask which protection class it applies and how far it measures to the nearest station and water supply.
  6. Price the driveway. Budget for the county driveway permit and culvert before you plan anything else on the site.

Does a five-acre parcel skip all of this?

It skips TDEC's subdivision evaluation, because the state exempts splits where every parcel is at least five acres. It doesn't skip the county plat process, the individual septic permit, or the insurance rating.

Is the hydrant abatement fee something a buyer pays?

In the Rainwater Farms conditions, the developer pays it before the final plat is recorded. Its effect on a buyer shows up in the fire protection itself, which an insurer judges from the actual distance to a station and a water supply.

Where can I watch new lot splits as they come up?

The Robertson County Planning Commission meets monthly. Its agenda packet, posted ahead of each meeting, lists every rezoning and preliminary plat along with staff comments on water and septic.

Buying rural land should feel steady, not rushed. If you're looking at a homesite in Robertson County, Whitley Battles Smith can help you line up the plat, septic, water, and insurance questions in the right order before the inspection period starts. Schedule a consultation, and we'll go through that lot's paperwork together, one condition at a time.

This article is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Consult a qualified professional about your situation.

Work With Whitley

I’m Whitley Smith, a real estate professional and certified Nurse Practitioner dedicated to guiding you through every step of your home journey. I combine empathy, expertise, and personalized service to ensure your experience is smooth, informed, and aligned with your goals. Together, we’ll turn your real estate dreams into reality with care, confidence, and clarity.

Follow Me on Instagram